I'm a college freshmen, second semester, with two roommates that drive me up the wall, one that is good, and surrounded by an endless expanse of snow and geese. I aspire to be a writer, and yet often times when speaking I ironically have a hard time articulating myself. I'm extremely close with my family, and as such have been feeling the usual boughts of homesickness.
Over the years, I have been called "honest." Not necessarily in "not lying," about things (because let's be frank here, as the song goes, we all have our Dirty Little Secrets), but in being blunt about how I feel about something. I admit that I'm not necessarily the "nicest" person all the time; sarcasm and rudeness come swiftly to my tongue and often times I'm biting it back. But when it comes to friends, despite my sarcasm, underneath you will find that my teasing is merely how I express my fondness. I know, I need a new way to express these feelings, but hey, nobody's perfect. However, when it comes to people that I do not like, there is a distinct difference in my teasing. My bluntness comes forth even more so, and I give them the gist of how I feel without ever actually stating it.
So, here are my honest opinions about things. Typically things about how I don't understand about humans in general. They're such a weird species. I mean let's think about this, okay? They would, hypothetically, call anyone from Mars a Martian, yes? Because that makes "sense." But do you realize that that gives them the idea that we're called "Earthlings?" I mean, we are, but so is my dog, my best friend's cat, and fish that swim in the sea. I love my dog. But on the scale of "lifeforms" I don't want to be confused for her. The Martian equivalent of a dog would also have to be called a Martian, because it's from Mars. And who are we to name them, anyway? What if they have a name? How would we feel if some aliens came here and started calling us some weird-o name that was way off base? I mean really....
"Before Facebook, I..." This is one of my favorite starts to a Facebook status that people like to post. "Oh, we used slam books in my day!" or "I poked my friends for real." You know why I love them so much? They're posted by teenagers, who are in high school, and not even seniors. Well, let's see here...Facebook was opened to high schoolers by 2005. So basically, when you were in 5th grade, you had a slam book? Because it wasn't too long after that -- just a few years -- that everybody could get a Facebook, and we all know you had one as soon as you could (and let's not forget the lovely MySpace). So, you had a slam book...when you were in elementary? Okay. That makes sense.
Speaking of Facebook, am I the only one to notice the abundance of teenagers who like to take pictures of themselves, in front of a mirror, in the bathroom, with their cell phone? "Cool picture, bro. LOVE the toilet in the background." Or guys that think they're God's gift to women, and love to take shirtless pictures? I mean, a few have a nice six-pack going on, but even that's just, "...Why?" Because if we're being honest, while a good, buff guy is nice to drool over on occasion, preferably during a chick-flick, it's not really at the top of women's lists of Their Perfect Man. A lot have "good looking" on it (which I don't understand myself, but I'll get back to that), but "abs of steel" are really only ever icing on the cake -- an added bonus, but not something required or really even desired. In good shape, yes, but he doesn't have to be able to bench-press four times my weight or something.
The Perfect Man is far too boring. Perfect is boring. Why get Prince Charming? I mean, sure, I'd love to be swept off my feet, but there are already like, four princesses fighting over Prince Charming over there. Why join that cat fight? And of course, "tall, dark, and handsome." From what I've found, the more I've tried to narrow down my "type" the more I realize that there is no set order to any guy I like, personality-wise or looks-wise. I'll finally determine I like guys with dark hair, and then find myself falling for a blond. I'll think it's all about tall, and realize that the guy I like is probably only an inch taller than me. Blue eyes, brown eyes, green eyes, grey eyes, hazel eyes -- the day I settle on one will be the day Colorado has normal weather. Quite frankly, looks are fleeting. I'd rather have someone whom I can love for the rest of my life, not someone who's gorgeous the first few years, and then after that, he's just a jerk, or someone I'm not really in love with. And speaking of love...
"I love you, I say -- just not today." Maybe I'm just a grouchy English person, but could you people figure out what "I love you" means? I am sick of reading statuses about how you're so in love with someone, even after your break-up, and how you blame yourself, and you went out with them for a week. Love is not at all like that. Being in love with someone takes time. Which is why the multitude of chick-flicks as of late where two people know each other for about a week get engaged by the end of it have begun to bother me. "He's my Romeo, and I'm his Juliet!" Okay, so, he falls in love with every beautiful woman he sees, gets over-dramatic about it each time, and you're going to marry him the day after you meet, and you plan on killing yourself when he's yet again a drama queen and kills himself? Honey. Think about this one. Look, I don't care how in love I may be, I'm not going to kill myself over some boy that I've known for less than a week and my parents wouldn't even approve of (don't get me wrong, though; Shakespeare is a total beast). I think I can make better life decisions than that one right there.
So, if you've stuck around you really must be bored, or have no life, or I've offended you somehow with what I've said. Well, here's a news flash -- you shouldn't care!! My opinions are my own, and yours are your own. If you don't agree with what I've said, because you think that you can fall in love at first sight (I stand by "lust at first sight" myself), or because Martians should be called such because you feel the name is appropriate, or because you really think you are God's gift to women, or hey, maybe you think that ugly ducklings just can't be lucky, that's your opinion. Don't just go, "You're wrong! >:(" Give me a reason for being wrong, if you feel that I am; give me your side of the story. Tell me why you prefer your opinion. Or just take a deep breath, and appreciate how we all are created equally and completely differently at the same time. Now, I bid you adieu. Stay ducky, stay lucky.
No comments:
Post a Comment